1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Technic Launcher issues?

Discussion in 'Software/Coding' started by Maceshank, Mar 15, 2015.

  1. Maceshank

    Maceshank Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    344
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    On the grind for 100k subs.
    Location:
    America
    Home Page:
    Hello everyone, I play on my technic launcher quite a bit and have been having some issues with it.
    So, say I just want to play hexxit, it works perfectly fine! But when I play ANY other game on the launcher, they just dont start and go back to the technic launcher screen. I have searched EVERYWHERE for answers and have found nothing. Anybody else have this happen to you and if so, does anyone know how to fix it?
     
  2. MdsCool

    MdsCool Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Playing minecraft
    Location:
    McDonalds :D
    Screenshots please :)
     
  3. Elphios

    Elphios Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    305
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    xx
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Yep, send a screen ;)
     
  4. Masouri

    Masouri Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Greece
    This also happens to me.... On certain modpacks
     
  5. Volkom_

    Volkom_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1,522
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Rap God of the Sky
    Location:
    Just over there
    Does the launcher crash or can you physically not launch a modpack? How much memory have you dedicated?
     
  6. MutatedLlama

    MutatedLlama Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    352
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom :3
  7. Maceshank

    Maceshank Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    344
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    On the grind for 100k subs.
    Location:
    America
    Home Page:
    I just cant load them. I don't even have a gig dedicated to it because my computer doesn't allow it but about 2 months ago it was perfectly fine! Now it just does not want to load.
     
  8. StorySays

    StorySays Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    1,762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Passing the Butter
    Location:
    Gazorpazorp
    Home Page:
    Maybe a list of computer specifications, If you don't have at least a Gigabyte of RAM dedicated I'm surprised that it doesn't start... that's a pretty awful amount to dedicate.
    You normally dedicate half and a 1/10 of your ram, I have 8GB of RAM so I'd go for, 4.80GB of RAM.
     
    Volkom_ likes this.
  9. Maceshank

    Maceshank Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    344
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    On the grind for 100k subs.
    Location:
    America
    Home Page:
    Well, the computer is my entire family's and is 3 years old so um...
     
  10. Volkom_

    Volkom_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1,522
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Rap God of the Sky
    Location:
    Just over there
    Upgrade time!
     
  11. StorySays

    StorySays Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    1,762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Passing the Butter
    Location:
    Gazorpazorp
    Home Page:
    Press start, right Click "my computer" and click properties.
    Name everything under "system".
     
  12. alyphen

    alyphen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freelance software developer
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:
    That's so weird - I have no idea where the +10% came from, just check the recommended requirements for the pack/game and run with maybe a little more than that (4GB should be plenty)
    Also, I have 32GB RAM. That wouldn't mean that I would need to dedicate 16GB+ RAM to Tekkit if I desired to run it.
     
  13. StorySays

    StorySays Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    1,762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Passing the Butter
    Location:
    Gazorpazorp
    Home Page:
    More RAM = better
    There's never a direct amount that's set in stone. You should dedicate as much as you can always and half 1/10 is about right. Anything higher will start to make things worse rather than better.
     
  14. alyphen

    alyphen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freelance software developer
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:
    Anything too high and the biggest bottleneck is no longer memory, but something else like your graphics card.
    The JVM used to have trouble when you didn't use 2^n amounts of megabytes, so I got into the habit of doing that. I think that's fixed recently though, so I usually reccommend just to specify a -Xmx*G flag and setting the amount of gigabytes to something sensible. The 10% isn't going to make a noticeable difference in most cases, and 10% is an arbitrary number where everything in computing is base 2 anyway.
     
  15. alyphen

    alyphen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freelance software developer
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Home Page:
    Forgot to mention, it's never going to make it slower, though - no idea where you got that idea.
     
  16. StorySays

    StorySays Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    1,762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Passing the Butter
    Location:
    Gazorpazorp
    Home Page:
    Neither do I, because I didn't say that it got slower. lawl.