1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Request] A way to hide locked posts in a thread

Discussion in 'Software/Coding' started by Lezappen, Jul 26, 2016.

  1. Lezappen

    Lezappen Mod Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    637
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    British Pasta Addict
    Location:
    UK
    Mostly for the report section.
    I was thinking of it being under the form of a browser script.
     
  2. Camezonda

    Camezonda Mod Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    4,664
    Likes Received:
    955
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    YouTube
    Location:
    Good old place called Essex
    Home Page:
    This has been suggested many times in the past, I think it could be in the new website.
     
  3. zRinne

    zRinne Mod Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    NEET
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    It depends on which category you want to hide it.
    If it's in the player reports then perhaps a (staff only) archived area where locked and dealt with reports would go into there for future reference.

    It shouldn't be applied to locked threads in the bug reports or something off-topic that got locked because someone necro-posted as players could view them if they seek some answers in them.

    So maybe staff could get access to thread tools and move locked threads manually into the respective areas?
     
  4. Lezappen

    Lezappen Mod Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    637
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    British Pasta Addict
    Location:
    UK
    It can also be a script seperate from the website.
     
  5. zRinne

    zRinne Mod Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    NEET
    Location:
    Singapore
    Home Page:
    Not sure how that works (don't really know about coding) but if there it's easy to do so unlike moving threads to archive then +1
     
  6. MagnificentSpam

    MagnificentSpam Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    hgbf, johncoles and Lezappen like this.
  7. Lezappen

    Lezappen Mod Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    637
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    British Pasta Addict
    Location:
    UK
    :eek:Wow !
    Thanks !
    The gui is actually way better than I expected (the presence of the checkbox inside the profile menu, very good idea ! )
    I can't wait for september when I can try this out on my machine...
    GG !
    Very cool script... ;)
    I don't know what else to say but more thanks ! This will be saving me so much time and make it so much easier to go through reports :D.

    P.S : Is greasemonkey only for firefox on PC ? Or can you have it on chrome too ? On a mac ?
    Also, I'm learning javascript and I'm interrested to know how you "hid" the posts, if you want to explain that is ;)

    Edit : Another Thank you !
    I can't thank you enough XD
     
  8. MagnificentSpam

    MagnificentSpam Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    On firefox you need the greasemonkey addon, on chrome there is tampermonkey. Those should work on any os. I'm not sure about safari, there seems to ba a plugin for that but I can't test it.

    For the hiding part, you can see the code here. The script basically loops through all elements that have the classes 'discussionListItem' and 'locked', and sets their css attribute 'display' to 'none'.
     
    johncoles, iLoveYouu and Lezappen like this.
  9. johncoles

    johncoles CEO Staff Member Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    CEO
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    +1 Cred checked code seems safe. :)
     
    Lezappen and DontYouDare like this.
  10. Lezappen

    Lezappen Mod Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    637
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    British Pasta Addict
    Location:
    UK
    I got the script to work on mozilla firefox, and it really helps :D
    Thank you so much :p


    I would like to precise for those downloading it that the checkbox only appears when you are in the player reports section of the forums.