Minecraft PC IP: play.cubecraft.net
Jul 23, 2017
China
1*8rrm8VmpX_cZkG8tsBL7fg.png

With the recent scare in the Minecraft community about the new “CheatBreaker” anti-cheat coming out for certain PotPvP servers, it pays to take a step back from this mess and actually figure something out instead of generating more meaningless hype.

Fair Warning
I am a cheat developer myself, so my opinion on this might be biased. I will try to answer as many questions as possible though that are at least somewhat relevant to the situation at hand, so bear with me.

Q #1: What the hell even is CheatBreaker? Why does it even matter?
“CheatBreaker” seems to be Minecraft server owners solution to the massive amount of cheating (blatant or closet, it doesn't make a damn difference) that happens on Minecraft servers. If this will be effective or not, we cannot exactly know at this time. But, I can give my opinion and try to make some reasonable guesses, but no promises that my assumptions will be correct.

Q #2: So, how is it going to even work?
We don’t know. CheatBreaker relies on the practice of “security by obscurity” to protect its internal anti-cheat solution. Of course, like many systems that are secured by this manner (see: DRM), it doesn't take very long for experienced reverse engineers to crack — or in this case, bypass, it. People are thinking that this will be the end of Minecraft cheating — it will most likely not be anywhere near the end. While it certainly will increase the “barrier to entry” for cheating on Minecraft, it will also attract cheat developers from other games (such as CS:GO or ROBLOX) to make cheats for Minecraft aswell with the looming prospect of how much money they could make off of selling bypasses or other cheating methods.

Q #3: How will it ban people?