1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Language based on Minecraft settings rather than on geographic location

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by Tomasito, Sep 20, 2016.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tomasito

    Tomasito Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi,

    I have noticed that there have been added translations to Cubecraft since some weeks, awesome! The language Cubecraft chooses for me is Dutch. I suppose that it is based on my geographical position since I live in Amsterdam and thus my IP address is Dutch. However, the language in my Minecraft settings is Spanish because I am Spanish.

    Could it be possible for Cubecraft to not base the language on geographical location but on the Minecraft language settings of the player?

    - Jordi
     
  2. NedGaming

    NedGaming Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    1,605
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You can just change it?...
     
  3. Tomasito

    Tomasito Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Sure. As a matter of fact, I already changed it. It is just a suggestion to the developers so that we don't force the player to set his language two times, both for Minecraft itself and Cubecraft, but just once in the MC settings. If he or she decides later to change the MC language, the Cubecraft language will update as well. It's not huge of a deal, but IMHO it would be a better model.

    Edit: Is there a developer mailing list to which I could subscribe? I am a developer myself and I am more than willing to do some bugfixes here and there.
     
  4. Buuuddy

    Buuuddy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgium
    If the in-game languages would change as soon as you change your language in your Minecraft settings, there would have to be an in-game version for a lot (too much) languages. Also, the in-game languages don't change automatically based on your location or IP. Why your language changed is a mystery. ;)
     
  5. Tomasito

    Tomasito Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    > there would have to be an in-game version for a lot (too much) languages

    Ah yes, good point. However, I think we could adopt the Minecraft settings language and fallback to our current language retrieval approach if the player's Minecraft language is not available. What do you think?

    > Also, the in-game languages don't change automatically based on your location or IP. Why your language changed is a mystery.

    Hmm.. if it's not based on location, where is it based on? Just curious ^^
     
  6. LooksLikeHacks

    LooksLikeHacks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Just Do It
    Location:
    devil joker harambes home
    Home Page:
    Im from the netherlands and my language was English. English is the default language so it isnt based on your ip.
    You must have changed it too Dutch.

    I hope this will help you :)
     
  7. Saradabaschi

    Saradabaschi Admin Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    2,709
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Germany
    I don't know why that happened to you. I just asked one of you dutch staff members and their language was still english after we realeased the option to change your language.
    You can easily change it as explained above :)

    Locked.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.