1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GPU-DVI/VGA-SCREEN

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mczoze1998YT, Jan 14, 2016.

  1. mczoze1998YT

    mczoze1998YT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    There is a lot of debates and i do mean A LOT on the internet about the double GPU setup
    So i was wondering will double GPU help with frame lag if i have ONLY ONE monitor ?
    i have 2 R9s scrapped from other computer with dead MB so i was wondering will it help with lag if i use 2 or i only need 1 ? i want to sell the other GPU and donate either on cubecraft or on optifine for a different cape.
     
  2. hgbf

    hgbf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    2,695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ⎝Duck⎠
    Location:
    Next to my computer
    If you have a AMD r9 series card, one card will be more than enough to play minecraft without any lag, but if you want to play other games, it will be better. But yes, you will get better performance with 2 cards in crossfire, even if you only use one screen.

    If you're just going to play minecraft, sell the other card ;)
     
  3. HotShotDev

    HotShotDev Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi,

    I recommend you just get one single good card. Yes SLI is nice but if your just playing Minecraft you dont need SLI. Minecraft can be laggy due to having low ram, low CPU power etc. So that might not be your main problem.

    Thank you
    HotShotDev
     
  4. xTurtleOfficialㅤ

    xTurtleOfficialㅤ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    5,291
    Likes Received:
    373
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    idk
    Location:
    Earth
    Dammm

    I play MC with a card of 48$ USD xD
    I can record with it (without lag)
    And now I have install a MOD for see the HEALT of players
    No lag
    Always can record with my MOD xD

    Just buy a card for 100$

    -Ryan
     
  5. Steamrot

    Steamrot Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a R7 370 (1) with a FX 6300 OC at 4.5 Ghz with 5 gigs of RAM (Rare to see in a desktop) and a ASUS M5A97 R2.0 and runs Minecraft great. The only problem is the ram bottlenecking it sometimes but very rarely (Unless i'm running a large modpack with a server to run). Also, I was running GTA V 30-40 FPS in High settings SOOO it should be good! Also, you said it'll double the FPS if you crossfire it with 1 monitor. FALSE! It depends on A LOT OF STUFF like if your CPU is bottlenecking it, crappy PSU or low Wattage on your PSU (350w for something like that), etc... it'll give your FPS a little to a lot like 70% to 90% but never at 100%.
     
  6. P3riapsis

    P3riapsis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    If you have 2 r9s you might as well use them. if they are 290s you only really need to keep one, but 2 270s will be noticeably better than just 1 using crossfire (but possibly can cause artifacts such as frame tearing in some situations, google it), unless all you play is Minecraft, then one 270 is fine (it's what I use and I get 90FPS at 1440p).

    I don't get the 370. I tested a 370 compared to my 270 and the 270 beat it, even more after overclocking both. Also, 5 gigs of RAM is strange, never seen that before.
     
  7. hgbf

    hgbf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    2,695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ⎝Duck⎠
    Location:
    Next to my computer
    This thread is more than 2 weeks old, please don't reply to it.