1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't resolve hostname

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by astrochango, Jun 10, 2015.

  1. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello crafters,

    Since yesterday at night I have been not enabled to join the server using the following address:

    play.cubecraftgames.net

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Troubleshooting:
    • Router restarted
    • Connection tested with every version from 1.8.1 to 1.8.7
    • Firewall totally disabled
    There were topics from this forum about this problem too, but all of them states that this problem was fixed itselft after some minutes or updating the servers.

    Does Anyone know how to guide me to the right direction in order to fix it?
     
  2. ItsYaBoyJavid

    ItsYaBoyJavid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    2,451
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Gaming
    Location:
    Earth
    Try just 1.8 And I can't see it very well but, the ".net' part looks like a comma instead of a Dot. , .
     
  3. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Thats why I copied the addreess above just to be verified. Also, trying just 1.8 gets the same bad result.
     
  4. ItsYaBoyJavid

    ItsYaBoyJavid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    2,451
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Gaming
    Location:
    Earth
    Hm. @Drew McNamee instead of tagging halo.
     
  5. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Guys, I can confirm at this moment that this problem intermittent. I joined the server some minutes ago using 1.8.7, after some minutes of playing, it throws a TimeOutException. With other versions the server is totally unknown.
     
  6. PartyBlaze

    PartyBlaze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Europe
    Well, if you have the hostname open up command prompt or Terminal and type in nslookup <hostname>, when you get their IP run "ping -l 128 <ip>". If that succeeds without packet loss then I suspect it's a client bug.
    This error isn't usually thrown unless something with your client is wrong.
     
  7. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Take a look to responses:

    Code:
    $ nslookup play.cubecraftgames.net
    Server:     192.168.1.1
    Address:   192.168.1.1#53
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:   play.cubecraftgames.net
    Address: 136.243.11.112
    Then, do a ping:

    Code:
    $ ping -s 128 136.243.11.112
    PING 136.243.11.112 (136.243.11.112) 128(156) bytes of data.
    136 bytes from 136.243.11.112: icmp_seq=1 ttl=40 time=189 ms
    136 bytes from 136.243.11.112: icmp_seq=2 ttl=40 time=187 ms
    136 bytes from 136.243.11.112: icmp_seq=3 ttl=40 time=187 ms
    136 bytes from 136.243.11.112: icmp_seq=4 ttl=40 time=188 ms
    136 bytes from 136.243.11.112: icmp_seq=5 ttl=40 time=186 ms
    136 bytes from 136.243.11.112: icmp_seq=6 ttl=40 time=186 ms
    ^C
    --- 136.243.11.112 ping statistics ---
    6 packets transmitted, 6 received, 0% packet loss, time 5005ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 186.693/187.574/189.483/1.055 ms
    Any package is lost and the server still unknown
    from minecraft client. So, I decided to remove and reinstall the launcher. Nothing changed.

     
  8. allstarninja

    allstarninja Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    275
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    0% packet loss
     
  9. OrangeGE

    OrangeGE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4,682
    Likes Received:
    2,229
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    p.getLocation();
    Some of our Frontends are having some network issues. However, that looks like a failed DNS resolution.

    Please try rebooting your PC and try again.
     
  10. allstarninja

    allstarninja Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    275
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    How did the DNS lookup fail? he received the packets. (not saying you're wrong, I'm confused.)
     
  11. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Allstarninja, the problem points to DNS resolution because the problem is intermittent based in network stability. I mean, when you do a ping not always you will receive all the packets. In this case yeah, I had any problem (0 packets lost), but when I did a request from minecraft's client there were moments where play.cubecraftgames.net was not found. If I do several pings in a hour, it will fail.

    By my site, I have resetted every device in the local network. Today the problem stills there.
     
  12. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Update:
    • dns services restarted: fail
    • dns cache flush: fail
    • dns reinstalled: fail
    • using google dns: fail
    There is not way to connect to CubeCraft. Good bye skywars
     
  13. allstarninja

    allstarninja Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    275
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Lol ok. I wish you luck in the future.
     
    NLDiamondFTW likes this.
  14. Marco Slater

    Marco Slater Owner Staff Member Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    2,163
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pushing buttons for Digital Tree Media.
    Location:
    Bury, UK.
    Home Page:
    DNS is a name resolution protocol, it turns play.cubecraftgames.net into an IP address. Wether you can connect to that IP address does not matter.

    When he pinged play.cubecraftgames.net the ping command looked up the DNS record (A For IPv4) of play.cubecraftgames.net and got the IP, which then got pinged. DNS resolution happens automatically, and the system usually does it for you.

    In this case it seems, however, that his minecraft client has issues resolving our domain name into an IP address, iirc, minecraft looks up DNS names in its own code, and not via the system its on.

    To fix this, try replacing "play.cubecraftgames.net" as the address, with "136.243.11.112". (Without quotes, of course.)

    See if that fixes the issue @astrochango .
     
    NLDiamondFTW, GuaaarrD and PartyBlaze like this.
  15. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    hello @halothe23,
    yeah! but play.cubecraftgames.net's ip change so often, s, in the meanwhile gameplay you will be disconnected abruptly:
    Code:
    $ nslookup play.cubecraftgames.net
    Server:     192.168.1.1
    Address:   192.168.1.1#53
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:   play.cubecraftgames.net
    Address: 5.9.24.91
    
    $ nslookup play.cubecraftgames.net
    Server:     192.168.1.1
    Address:   192.168.1.1#53
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:   play.cubecraftgames.net
    Address: 136.243.24.15
     
  16. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Few minutes ago I made it works. I can not tell you whether it is a definitive solution.

    At first place, I tried to find another name resolution to connect:
    Code:
    $ dig play.cubecraftgames.net
    ;; Warning: Message parser reports malformed message packet.
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.9.4-P2-RedHat-9.9.4-18.P2.fc20 <<>> play.cubecraftgames.net
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 43849
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 26, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 5
    ;; WARNING: Message has 4 extra bytes at end
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;play.cubecraftgames.net.    IN    A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    play.cubecraftgames.net. 300    IN    CNAME    play.ccgn.co.
    play.ccgn.co.        44    IN    CNAME    main.ccgn.co.
    main.ccgn.co.        300    IN    A    5.9.24.91
    main.ccgn.co.        300    IN    A    5.9.133.70
    main.ccgn.co.        300    IN    A    136.243.20.119
    main.ccgn.co.        300    IN    A    136.243.24.60
    
    As you can see above, a warning message was printed from the responses about its format. (I will ignore it for a while just to follow my initial plan, but it is important to keep an eye on this.)
    Instead keep digging about, I just tried to connect using play.ccgn.co as server. This works ok for 15-20 minutes and then... Error! Time Out. So, I finally decided to use Google DNS editing resolv.conf file and set nameservers values. I wanted to avoid this option because it could carry on some other conflicts with my router and some other web services. I will be searching for another solution, for now, I will enjoy my free time tonigh
     
  17. Checksum

    Checksum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Run command prompt as administrator
    type ipconfig /flushdns

    Then re-ping the server.
     
  18. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello @Checksum, I have restarted the deamon in my machine running fedora 20. That is enough to flush the cache. The problem persist. The only way to get it works is to alternate bewteen removing Google DNSs and set them again every 45 minutes (average time the connection is alive with CubeCraft)
     
  19. Colourlight

    Colourlight Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,159
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Stalkers these days *shakes head*
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Home Page:
  20. astrochango

    astrochango Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Colourlight likes this.